SCTE Excellence in Standards Award

Excellence in Standards Award

The SCTE Excellence in Standards Award honors an SCTE Standards Program participant who has significantly contributed to both the technical standards program and the spirit of cooperation necessary for the success of voluntary standards.


Nominations for the 2022 award are due by July 1, 2022. To nominate a standards member, please use the nomination form


2021 Recipient

Dr. Yasser Syed

Comcast Communication

Dr. Yasser Syed has been an active and prolific contributor to the work of DVS Subcommittee for more than 10 years. He has chaired the MPEG DASH and Advanced Transport working group since 2016, co-chaired the NextGen Technologies Ad Hoc Group, and chaired and participated in many drafting groups, including our drafting group on Advanced Coding Technologies. His work on the five year review of SCTE 172, Constraints on AVC and HEVC Structured Video Coding for Digital Program Insertion was especially significant.

Past Recipients:

2019: John Dolan

2018: Craig D. Cuttner

2017: David Fellows

2016: Ron Hranac

2015: Dr. Paul Hearty

2014: Brian James

2013: Bryan Santangelo

2012: Dean Stoneback

2011: Dr. Jeffrey Krauss

2010: Roger D Mathews

2009: David Broberg

2008: Kevin Gantt

2007: Mark K. Eyer

2006: Paul D. Woidke

2005: Alan J. Amato