SCTE Member of the Year Award

SCTE Member of the Year Award

This renowned award recognizes the SCTE member who has made the most significant contributions to the Society through active participation in its programs and efforts during the past year.

Nominations: Nominations for the 2024 award are due by June 7, 2024.  To nominate an SCTE member, please use the  nomination form.

2023 Recipient

Sam Acoff, Headend Manager at Comcast Communications

Sam Acoff is recognized as an outstanding chapter president for the Great Lakes chapter. He is lauded for raising the chapter to new heights through training and new visions of bringing in a wider group of professionals not thought of before. He is a mentor for new leaders and technicians in Headend, Network Maintenance, Tech Ops and Fiber maintenance. He seeks to partner with local municipals to bring industry awareness at the high school and college levels as a trade. He continually seeks out and stays ahead with training on new technologies. Sam is appreciated for how he elevates those around him and brings new ideas to the table. He continually encourages involvement and engagement among his Comcast peers and teams and is truly a Member of the Year. Congratulations Sam Acoff, 2023 recipient of SCTE Member of the Year.

Past Recipients:

2022: Rudy Dauncey

2021: Mark Adams

2020: George Bosak

2019: Cliff Simpson

2018: Larry Wolcott

2017: Ed Marchetti 

2016: Bill Spies 

2015: Thomas L. Lewis

2014: Bob Acheson

2013: Steve Murphy

2012: Joseph Guariglia

2011: Tom Gorman

2010: Bob Legg, Jr.

2009: Frank Eichenlaub

2008: Brenda Stottler

2007: Ronald Brunt

2006: Roger Paul*

2005: Bob Foote

2004: Ron Hranac

2003: Bill DesRochers

2002: Pam Nobles

2001: Rudy Niznansky

2000: Mark Millet

1999: Antonio Huerta*

1998: Keith Hayes

1997: David Devereaux-Weber

1996: Alan Babcock

1995: James Haag

1994: Wendell Woody*

1993: William Grant

1992: Ron Wolfe*

1991: Steve Allen

1990: Richard Covell

1989: Paul Beeman

1988: Michael Aloisi

1987: Rex Porter

1986: Sally Kinsman*

1985: Pete Petrovich

1984: David Franklin

1983: John Kurpinski

1982: Clifford Paul*

1981: Yves Fortier

1980: Thomas Polis*

1979: Kenneth Gunter* & Ralph Haimowitz*

1978: James Grabenstein

1977: Frank Bias

1976: Glenn Chambers

1975: James Collins

1974: Steven Dourdoufis