Broadband Cable Access Networks: The HFC Plant

Two of the authors of the best-selling Modern Cable Television Technology, Second Edition, have produced this must-have publication: Technology Broadband Cable Access Networks: The HFC Plant. This book focuses on broadband distribution and systems architecture. It pulls out the sections of Modern Cable Television Technology that cover distribution systems -- basic coax and optical theory, cascaded equipment performance, regulations, network design and performance -- (approximately the material in Chapters 10 through 20 of the second edition) and updates them extensively. The objective is to enhance the skill sets of a large population that designs and builds broadband cable plants, as well as those maintaining and troubleshooting them. Included are online components consisting of spreadsheets that are used in establishing and measuring end-to-end performance parameters; defining design characteristics, benchmarking network redundancy, etc. Chapters:Linear Broadband Distribution SystemsCoaxial RF TechnologyCoaxial Distribution System DesignLinear Fiber-Optic Signal TransportationWavelength Division MultiplexingLinear Microwave Signal TransportationEnd-to-End PerformanceUpstream IssuesArchitectural Requirements and TechniquesArchitectural Elements and ExamplesEmerging ArchitecturesNetwork Reliability and AvailabilityAppendix: Channel Allocation, Glossary About the AuthorsDavid Large is an independent consultant whose career has included building and operating cable systems; designing products for the industry; and advising a wide variety of firms, governements, and organizations. He is a Fellow Member and Hall of Fame Honoree of the SCTE, a Senior Member of the IEEE, an NCTA Science and Technology Vanguard Award Winner, and an SCTE-certified Broadband Communications Engineer. James Farmer is Chief Technical Officer at Wave7 Optics, an Enablence Technologies Company. He has previously been with Scientific-Atlanta, ESP, and ANTEC. Jim is a Fellow of the IEEE and a Senior Member of the SCTE and has served on administrative boards with both organizations. He is the recipient of the NCTA Vanguard Award in Technology and a member of the SCTE Hall of Fame. Published 2009